Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

California Disability Insurance: What you need to know

California law requires employers to participate in the state short-term disability insurance (SDI) program (Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code Sec. 2601 et seq.). The law permits substitution of a private plan, but only with the consent of a majority of employees (Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code Sec. 3254). Such a private plan must also provide benefit rights greater than the state plan.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The law applies to all employers (including employers of agricultural labor) that paid wages of $100 or more in any calendar quarter of the previous year (Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code Sec. 2606 and Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code Sec. 676). Individuals performing domestic service who earn at least $750 in a calendar quarter are also covered (Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code Sec. 2606.5). Some services for local public entities are covered, and others may elect coverage.
The actual coverage requirements are substantially the same as those under the California Unemployment Insurance Code.
To be eligible to receive SDI benefits, an employee must have earned a minimum of $300 in wages from which SDI contributions were withheld during the base period (Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code Sec. 2652). The base period covers a year and is divided into four consecutive quarters. It includes wages subject to SDI tax that were paid approximately five to 18 months before an individual’s disability, care, or bonding claim began. Late claims may result in a reduction in benefits.
Upon request of the director, claimants may be required to submit to an examination. There is a one-week waiting period for benefits (Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code Sec. 2627).
If a claim begins in January, February, or March, the base period is the 12 months ending the previous ...

>> Read more about Disability Insurance

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

California Disability Insurance Resources

Disability Insurance Products

Wellness Programs Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Wellness Programs: Manage Activity, Reduce Costs, and Boost Participation""
PTO Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "PTO: How to Handle the Day-to-Day Challenges When Employees Unexpectedly – and Repeatedly – Call Out""
Solving PTO Problems Webinar Recording
Solving PTO Problems: How to Reduce Unscheduled Absences Without Alienating Employees or Violating the Law"
Workers’ Comp Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Workers’ Comp: How To Discipline or Terminate Claimants Without Triggering Lawsuits""
Workers' Comp Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Workers’ Comp: How To Discipline or Terminate Claimants Without Triggering Lawsuits""
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!