Nevada's continuation requirements apply to fully-insured group health plans sponsored by employers with fewer than 20 employees. Self-insured plans and dental and vision plans are not covered. To qualify for continuation coverage, an individual must have been covered under a group health plan for at least 12 months and must apply within 60 days of losing coverage. The Nevada law does not provide continuation rights for an employee and his or her dependents if coverage is lost because the employee terminated voluntarily or was terminated for gross misconduct. If an employer changes its insurer while an individual has state continuation coverage, the new insurer must provide continuation coverage for that person for the remainder of the continuation period.
Employees. An employee who has been covered for at least 12 months may elect to continue identical coverage under the plan, excluding coverage provided for eye or dental care for up to 18 months, if he or she loses coverage because:
• His or her employment is terminated for any reason other than gross misconduct; or
• The number of his or her working hours is reduced so that he or she ceases to be eligible for coverage.
Spouses and dependents. An employee's spouse or dependent child who has been covered for at least ...