|
Close





Arkansas Jury Duty/ Court Appearance: What you need to know

Length of service. Those called to jury service in Arkansas serve a maximum of 24 days over 6 months.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Excusal/postponement. Prospective jurors requesting to be excused from or a postponement of service because of extreme personal hardship or illness must contact the court clerk's office as indicated on the jury duty summons.
Jury duty. An employer may not discharge an employee because of absence from work as a result of jury duty. An employee may not be penalized with loss of sick leave or vacation time or subjected to any other penalty because of absence as a result of jury duty. Employees are required to give reasonable notice to the employer if summoned for jury duty. Employers that violate this provision are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor (AR Code Sec. 16-31-106).
Court appearance. In addition to compliance with the law regarding jury duty, public employers may not discharge or penalize (in any of the ways described under Jury duty in this section) an employee who serves as a witness (AR Code Sec. 21-4-213;AR Admin. Code Sec. 105.9.1).
Jurors in Arkansas are paid a per diem attendance fee; the amount of the fee is determined by the county.
Private employers. Arkansas law does not require private employers to pay employees for absences resulting from jury duty or court appearances. Although not required to do so, many employers do pay all employees called to jury duty or court appearances regardless of exempt or nonexempt status. (See Federal Law Considerations for Exempt Employees in this section for more information.) Some courts pay jurors a small fee, and the employer may offset any amounts received by an employee for a particular week against the salary due for that particular ...

>> Read more about Jury Duty/ Court Appearance

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Arkansas Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Resources

TypeTitle
Checklists Jury Duty Checklist
Policies Jury duty policy (standard)

Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!