Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Michigan Jury Duty/ Court Appearance: What you need to know

While the term of jury service is 1 month or one trial, the average length of service is 1 or 2 days.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Requests for job-related excusal from or postponement of jury duty must be accompanied by a letter from the employer detailing the reasons for the request. A request for a medical exemption requires a letter from a doctor. Prospective jurors are allowed one request for postponement to a date within 3 months of the original summons date. Citizens who have served on a jury within the past 12 months will be excused.
Jury duty. Michigan law prohibits employers from disciplining, discharging, or threatening an employee who is summoned for or serves on jury duty. Also, employers may not require employees to work on a day they have jury duty if the number of hours "exceeds the number of hours normally and customarily worked by the person" on that day. However, employees may voluntarily agree to do this (MI Stat. Sec. 600.1348).
Employers that violate this provision commit a misdemeanor and may be punished for contempt of court.
Court appearance. Michigan law prohibits employers from disciplining, discharging, or threatening any employee who is subpoenaed and required to appear in court as a victim of a crime or who attends court as a victim representative. Employers who violate this provision commit a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for up to 90 days and/or a fine of up to $500 and may be punished for contempt of court (MI Stat. Sec. 780.762).
Jurors in Michigan receive a payment of $25 for the first day, with $12.50 for a half-day of service on the first day. After the first day, jurors receive a payment of $40 for each subsequent day of service and $20 for any half-day of service.
Employees may ask for verification of their jury attendance and juror payments to give to their employers.

>> Read more about Jury Duty/ Court Appearance

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Michigan Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Resources

Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!