Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

North Carolina Jury Duty/ Court Appearance: What you need to know

Length of service. Jury service usually lasts 1 week or one trial, depending on the county. Residents are not required to serve more than once in 2 years.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Deferrals and excusals. Prospective jurors may ask the court to defer their jury service for good cause. People with a medical condition or those who have served jury service in the past 2 years may ask to be excused.
Jury duty. An employer may not discharge or demote an employee because the employee has been called for or is serving as a juror. An employer that violates the law may be ordered to reinstate the employee and pay damages (NC Gen. Stat. Sec. 9-32). All employers are covered.
Witness service. No statute exists, but discharging employees for appearing as witnesses could implicate an employer in wrongful discharge in violation of public policy theory.
Jurors receive payment for their service, with the per diem rate depending on how many days they have served.
Private employers. State law does not require private employers to pay employees for absences caused by jury duty or court appearances. Although not required to do so, many private employers pay all employees called to jury duty or court appearances regardless of exempt or nonexempt status (see Federal Law Considerations for Exempt Employees in this section for more information). Some courts pay jurors a small fee, and the private employer may offset any amounts received by an employee for a particular week against the salary due for that particular week.
Public employers. State employees, whether they are full-time, part-time, permanent, or probationary, are entitled to leave with pay and regular compensation, plus fees received for jury duty. Employers may not require ...

>> Read more about Jury Duty/ Court Appearance

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

North Carolina Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Resources

Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!