|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tennessee Jury Duty/ Court Appearance: What you need to know

Verification of service. Jurors must show the summons for jury duty to the employer the next working day after receipt. Upon request of the employee, the person responsible for jurors will provide the employee with a statement showing the number of hours of service if the service was less than 3 hours.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Frequency of service. The frequency with which a qualified citizen may be called depends on the needs of the county of residence.
Postponement of service. Prospective jurors with a legitimate reason may ask that their time of service be delayed to within 12 months of the original summons. Summoned jurors who do not appear are subject to a fine.
Jury duty. It is unlawful for an employer to discharge, eliminate benefits, or otherwise penalize an employee for taking time off for jury duty as long as the employee shows the summons to his or her employer the day after receiving it. The employee is entitled to time off from work for each day that jury duty exceeds 3 hours. In addition, employees are excused from shiftwork that immediately precedes the first day of jury service and, thereafter, from shiftwork within 24 hours of the day of the jury service (TN Stat. Sec. 22-4-106).
An employee who has been fired, demoted, or suspended in violation of this law is entitled to reinstatement as well as lost wages and benefits. An employer that violates any of these provisions is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor (TN Stat. Sec. 22-4-106).
Exemptions. This law does not apply to employers that regularly employ fewer than five people or to temporary employees employed for fewer than 6 months.
Jurors receive a per diem amount, as well as mileage reimbursement. The amount is determined by the county.
Jury duty. Under Tennessee law, employers must pay their employees “usual compensation” for time spent serving and traveling to and from jury service. The employer has the discretion to deduct any juror fee or expense payment received from the court (

>> Read more about Jury Duty/ Court Appearance

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Tennessee Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Resources

Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!