|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Utah Jury Duty/ Court Appearance: What you need to know

Length of service. Jurors serve for 1 day unless they are accepted for a trial, when it will be necessary for them to attend court as necessary to complete service in the particular trial. Qualified citizens are required to serve on jury duty only once every 2 years. Postponements of juror service are rare in Utah and must be based on extreme inconvenience or hardship.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Proof of service. The jury administrator provides jurors with an attendance certificate showing the dates and times of service; employers may ask employees for a copy of this document.
Electronic devices and Internet access. Utah state courts offer Internet access; however, some content may be blocked and bandwidth is limited. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov for specific information.
Jury duty. An employer may not discharge, threaten, or otherwise coerce an employee because the employee responds to a summons for jury service or serves as a juror or grand juror. Further, an employer may not require an employee to use annual vacation or sick time for time spent in response to a summons or for jury service (UT Code Sec. 78B-1-116).
An employer that violates these provisions is guilty of criminal contempt and may be fined up to $500, imprisoned for up to 6 months, or both. An employee discharged in violation of this section may sue the employer within 30 days of discharge for reinstatement and up to 6 weeks of lost wages.
Court appearance. An employer may not discharge or otherwise coerce or threaten an employee because he or she responded to a subpoena or was summoned to a deposition or hearing (UT Code Sec. 78B-1-132).
Employers that violate this law are guilty of criminal contempt and face a fine and possible imprisonment. The employer may ...

>> Read more about Jury Duty/ Court Appearance

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Utah Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Resources

Jury Duty/ Court Appearance Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!