|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Alabama Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have comprehensive laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness. Alabama does not have such a law. However, Alabama employers with 50 or more employees may have leave obligations under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). There are additional details on the FMLA.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
All state employees. State employees receive 4 hours of sick leave for each biweekly period of service. They may take sick leave for their own illness; bodily injury not incurred in the line of duty, or bodily injury or occupational illness incurred in the line of duty but for which special leave is not granted; to take care of a sick member of their immediate family; or for a death in their immediate family.
The law defines immediate family as including the employee's spouse, child, grandchild, parent, grandparent, sibling, parent-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, or a person to whom a strong personal tie exists.
In case of serious disability or illness, sick leave may be advanced to any permanent employee as follows: all accrued sick and annual leave must be exhausted before a request for an advance is made; the absence must be 5 or more days; each application for an advance must be supported by certification from a registered practicing physician; and the total advance cannot at any time exceed 24 days.
Accumulated sick leave may be used for maternity purposes, as long as the employee works until the time she is disabled as a result of the pregnancy, and returns to work as soon as she ceases to be disabled. Employers may require a doctor's verification of the ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Alabama Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!