|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Alaska Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have comprehensive laws that require private employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Alaska does not have such a law for its private employers. However, Alaska employers with 50 or more employees are covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). Alaska employers with fewer than 50 employees are free to provide leave time or not, at their own discretion. There are more details on the FMLA.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Alaska does have an FMLA law that applies to public employers (AK Stat. Sec. 39.20.500 et seq.).
“Employer” means the state and any political subdivision of the state that employs at least 21 employees in the state for each working day during any period of 20 consecutive workweeks in the 2 calendar years preceding the leave request.
Employees of covered employers who have been employed for at least 35 hours per week for at least 6 months or for at least 171/2 hours per week for at least the 12 months preceding the leave are eligible for health and family leave.
The provisions of this law are subject to collective bargaining. However, a collective bargaining agreement that is not at least as beneficial to the employee as this law will be considered to contain the benefit provisions of this law.
An eligible employee may take family leave because of pregnancy and childbirth or the placement of a child, other than the employee's stepchild, with the employee for adoption. An employer may require this leave to be taken in a single block of time. An ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Alaska Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!