|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Arkansas Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have comprehensive laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child, or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Arkansas does not have such a law. However, Arkansas employers with 50 or more employees are covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). There are more details on the federal leave act.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Private employers with one or more employees are required to provide up to 90 days' leave for employees during testing for, donation of, and recovery from organ donation. Leave may be paid or unpaid, according to the employer's policy. If the employer provides paid leave, the employer is entitled to a credit against the employer's state withholding tax liability equal to 25 percent of the regular salary or wages paid. This credit applies only to the first 90 days of paid leave. The employee must request leave in writing (AR Code Sec. 11-3-205).
Note: The state law requiring private employers to grant leave for organ donation does not apply if the employee is eligible for leave under the federal FMLA.
State employee leave is governed by the Uniform Attendance and Leave Policy Act. The Act covers all agencies, departments, boards, commissions, bureaus, councils, and state-supported institutions of higher learning. Full-time state employees as well as temporary, probationary, and provisional state employees are eligible to take leave under the Act (AR Code Sec. 21-4-201 et seq.).
State employees may take sick leave for incapacitation due to sickness or injury, or medical, dental, or optical treatment. They may also ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Arkansas Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!