Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Colorado Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Colorado does not have such a law for private employers. However, most Colorado employers with 50 or more employees will be covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Effective August 10, 2016, state law requires employers to engage in an interactive process to assess potential reasonable accommodations for applicants and employees for conditions related to pregnancy and childbirth (CO Rev. Stat. Ann. Sec. 24-34-402.3). Reasonable accommodation may include modified work schedules, including leave.
There are separate rules for state employees (CO Code Reg. Tit. 4 Sec. 801 Rule P-5-24et seq.). To be eligible, an employee must have 1 year of total state service as of the date leave will begin. Such service is time on the payroll, regardless of employee type, and need not be consecutive time.
Temporary employees must also have worked 1,250 hours within the 12 months before the date leave will begin. Time worked includes overtime hours and paid leave (but not any type of unpaid leave).
Eligible employees are entitled to 520 hours of family leave in a fiscal year. If a part-time employee works an irregular, variable schedule, the amount of leave is prorated on the basis of the average number of hours worked in the 12 weeks before the beginning of the leave (rounded to the nearest 1/100 of a hour).
Requiring an employee to use more FML than needed is not permitted. The leave may be used for the birth and care of a child (must be ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Colorado Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!