|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Georgia Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child, or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Georgia does not have such a law for private employers. However, most Georgia employers with 50 or more employees will be covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
There are additional details on FMLA leave requirements.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Effective July 1, 2017, Georgia employers with 25 or more employees that provide paid sick leave to employees must also allow employees to use up to 5 days per year of that leave, once earned, to care for an immediate family member (G.C.A. 34-1-10.)
Additional information on this law is available.
Georgia's Fair Employment Practices (FEP) Act requires that public employers grant the same leave benefits to female employees disabled by pregnancy as are granted other employees with temporary disabilities. The Act covers all public employers with 15 or more employees. The FEP Act does not apply to private employers, but they may have leave obligations under federal law.
Georgia sets specific requirements for the use of sick leave and maternity leave by public school teachers and other school personnel. For purposes of the statute, the term “personnel” includes each person employed in the public school system in the capacity of student services support personnel or administrative and supervisory personnel.
Sick leave. May be taken for illness or injury, or for illness or death in the immediate family. Sick leave may be accumulated at a rate of 1 1/4 days ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Georgia Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!