|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Kansas Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have comprehensive laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child, or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Kansas does not have such a law that covers private employers. However, most Kansas employers with 50 or more employees will have leave obligations under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Any state employee in classified service (permanent status) may take a leave of absence on the grounds of sickness, disability, or “other good or sufficient reason.” Leave may not exceed 1 year, except as necessary to comply with other laws (KS Stat. Sec. 75-2947). Leave may be taken for illness or disability, including pregnancy, childbirth, miscarriage, abortion, and recovery therefrom; the adoption of a child by the employee; the initial placement of a foster child in the home of the employee; in order to care for a family member who has a serious health condition; or for other good and sufficient reason, when the appointing authority deems such leave to be in the best interest of the service. Any leave that exceeds 30 calendar days must be reported to the director of personnel services (KS Admin Regs. Sec. 1-9-6).
Any new hire in a regular position without permanent status may be granted unpaid leave for a period not to exceed 60 days (total leave not to exceed 6 months) for the same reasons, stated above (for permanent employees).
State employees may also use their accrued sick leave to care for the illness or disability (including pregnancy, childbirth, miscarriage, abortion, and recovery therefrom, and doctors' appointments) of the employee or the employee's family member, for the ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Kansas Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!