|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Louisiana Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Louisiana does not have a comprehensive statute providing family and medical leave protections. The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), covering employers with 50 or more employees, is the primary law governing family leave in the state.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
As in all states, Louisiana employers are barred by the federal Pregnancy Disability Act (PDA) from discriminating against any employee on the basis of a pregnancy-related disability. Additional information on the PDA is available. Louisiana also provides a blanket protection against discrimination due to pregnancy. Under this law it is unlawful for an employer of 25 or more employees to refuse to allow a female employee affected by pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions to either:
1. Receive the same employment benefits or privileges granted by the employer to other employees not so affected. Disabilities due to pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions are required to be treated as any other temporary disability. However, no employer is required to provide disability leave on account of normal pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical condition for a period exceeding 6 weeks. Also, an employer is not required to provide health insurance coverage for the medical costs of pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions; or
2. Take a pregnancy-related disability leave for a reasonable period of time not to exceed 4 months. “Reasonable period of time” means that period during which the employee is actually disabled because of pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition. The employee is entitled to use any accrued vacation leave during this period of time. An employer may require the employee to ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Louisiana Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!