|
Close





Michigan Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child, or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Michigan does not have such a law. However, Michigan employers with 50 or more employees are likely covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Michigan state law prohibits employers from disciplining, discharging, threatening, or requiring extra hours of work from any employee who is summoned for or serves on jury duty. Employers that violate this provision commit a misdemeanor and may be punished for contempt of court (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 600.1348). State law prohibits employers from disciplining, discharging, or threatening any employee who is subpoenaed and required to appear in court as a victim of a crime or to act as victim representative who attends court to be present during the testimony of the victim. A "victim representative" means a guardian or custodian of a child of a deceased victim if the child is less than 18 years of age; a parent, guardian, or custodian of a victim of assault if the victim is less than 18 years old; a person who has been designated to act in place of a victim of assault while the victim is physically or emotionally disabiled. Employers that violate this law commit a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for up to 90 days and/or a fine of up to $500 and may be punished for contempt of court (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 780.762). Michigan state law does not require employers to pay employees for absences for jury duty or court appearance.
Private employees must be given a leave of absence for military duty or training in ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Michigan Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!