Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Jersey Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

The New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA) (NJ Rev. Stat. Sec. 34-11B-1et seq.) requires employers to provide employees with up to 12 weeks of leave in any 24-month period:
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
• For the birth or adoption of a child (must begin leave within 1 year after date of birth or placement); or
• To care for, or to arrange for a change in care for, a child, parent (including step-parents and parents-in-law), or spouse with a serious health condition. An employee's partner in a same sex civil union is covered by the law.
An employee may not take state family leave for his or her own serious health condition. Leave to care for and bond with a child does not cover children placed in foster care arrangements.
Same-sex marriage. In 2015, the U.S. Supreme Court held that the 14th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution requires states to license a marriage between two people of the same sex and to recognize a marriage between two people of the same sex when their marriage was lawfully licensed and performed out of state (Obergefell v. Hodges, No. 14-556 (June 2015)). As a result of the Court’s decision in the Obergefell case, federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave to care for a spouse is available to an employee in a same-sex marriage in every state.
The Act covers private employers with 50 or more employees, and the state, any political subdivision, and all public offices, agencies, boards or bodies, regardless of size. The federal FMLA requires an employee to work at a worksite in which 50 or more employees work within 75 miles of the worksite. The New Jersey family leave law does not contain such a geographic requirement when determining whether the 50-employee requirement is ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

New Jersey Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!