|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New York Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have comprehensive laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but New York does not currently have such a law. However, New York employers with 50 or more employees are likely covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Effective January 1, 2018, all employees covered by the state’s temporary disability insurance law who have worked for an employer for 26 or more consecutive weeks will be eligible for paid family leave. The amount of leave and compensation, available through the state’s employee-funded system, will be phased in from January 1, 2018, through January 1, 2021. Employers are not required to provide compensation or to contribute to the state fund.
Amount of leave and compensation (phase in). Beginning on January 1, 2018, eligible employees will be entitled to a maximum of 8 weeks of leave during any 52-week period. Employees will be eligible for payment of 50% of the employee’s average weekly wages (not to exceed 50% of the state’s average weekly wage) during that time.
In 2019, the paid leave period will increase to 10 weeks, and compensation rates will increase to 55% of the employee’s average weekly wages. In 2020, an employee will be eligible for 60% of his or her average weekly wages.
On January 1, 2021, the benefit period will be capped at 12 weeks, and the payment of benefits will be capped at 67% of the employee’s average weekly wages (not to exceed 67% of the state’s average weekly wage).
Reasons for leave. Eligible employees will be able to take paid leave to bond with a new child (including an adopted or foster ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

New York Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!