Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

North Carolina Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have laws that require private employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child, or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but North Carolina does not have such a law. However, most North Carolina employers with 50 or more employees will be covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). North Carolina employers with fewer than 50 employees are free to provide paid or unpaid family leave at their own discretion.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Any employee who is a parent, guardian, or a person standing in place of a parent of a school-age child may take 4 hours of unpaid time off per year to attend activities at the child's school. “School” means any public, private, or religious school that provides grade school instruction; preschool; or child daycare facility. The leave must be at a time mutually agreed upon between the employer and employee.
Employers may require employees to request the time off in writing 48 hours in advance and may also require employees to provide written verification from the child's school that the employee did, in fact, attend school activities during the time off.
Employers may not discharge, demote, or otherwise take an adverse employment action against an employee who requests or takes leave for covered school visits. Employers are not required to provide paid leave for such visits (NC Gen. Stat. Sec. 95-28.3).
Employees have a right to take “reasonable time off” to obtain or seek to obtain protection under the state’s domestic violence law. An employee who is absent from work must follow the employer's usual time-off policy or procedure, including advance notice to the ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

North Carolina Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!