Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ohio Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have laws that require private employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Ohio does not have such a law. However, Ohio employers with 50 or more employees are covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). Ohio employers with fewer than 50 employees are free to provide paid or unpaid family leave or not, at their own discretion.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The leave provisions apply to all state employers (OH Rev. Code Sec. 124.136, Sec. 124.382et seq.).
A permanent full-time or permanent part-time employee who works 30 or more hours a week and is the biological parent of a newborn or the legal guardian of a newly adopted child is eligible for parental leave.
Parental leave may be taken for birth or adoption of a child. Employees may elect to receive $2,000 for adoption expenses in lieu of receiving the paid leave benefit. Payment may be requested upon placement of the child in the employee's home. If the child is already residing in the home, payment may be requested at the time the adoption is approved.
Parental leave includes 6 continuous weeks of leave. The first 14 days of leave are unpaid. During the remaining four weeks of the leave period, employees must receive paid leave equal to 70 percent of their base rate of pay. Employees may substitute available sick leave, personal leave, vacation time, or compensatory time for the 14-day period and to supplement the 70 percent base rate of pay for the rest of the leave, in an amount sufficient to provide up to 100 ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Ohio Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!