|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Oklahoma Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have comprehensive laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Oklahoma does not have such a law that covers private employers. However, most Oklahoma employers with 50 or more employees will have leave obligations under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The state has implemented requirements that are similar to the requirements of the federal FMLA and notes that the state law is not intended to conflict with the federal law. To be eligible for the leave, employees must have been employed by the state for at least one year and have worked at least 1,250 hours during the preceding 12-month period. The law provides state employees with up to 12 weeks of leave in a 12-month period for the birth or placement of a child or for the serious health condition of the employee or the employee's spouse, child, or parent.
If the employee takes this leave for a serious health condition, the employer may require medical certification from the healthcare provider of the employee or the employee's ill family member. Leave for a serious health condition may be taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule basis.
If the need for leave is foreseeable, employees should provide at least 30 days' notice. If the need for leave is not foreseeable, notice should be provided as soon as possible. Upon conclusion of leave, employees have the right to be restored in the same or equivalent position, with the same or equivalent benefits, except for extensions of his or her annual date for longevity pay, leave accrual, and calculation of retention points, that he ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Oklahoma Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!