|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Texas Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

Some states have laws that require private employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness, but Texas does not have such a law. However, most Texas employers with 50 or more employees are covered by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). Additional information is available.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Family and medical leave. A state employee with at least 12 months of state service and who has worked at least 1,250 hours during the preceding 12-month period is allowed to take leave under the federal FMLA. Employees must first use all available paid vacation and sick leave while taking this leave, except for employees receiving temporary disability benefits or workers' compensation benefits (TX Gov. Code Sec. 661.912).
Parental leave. State employees who have been employed by the state for less than 12 months or who have worked less than 1,250 hours in the preceding 12 months are eligible for parental leave not to exceed 12 weeks. Employees must first use all available paid vacation and sick leave, and the remainder of the leave is unpaid. The leave begins on the date of, and may be taken only for, the birth of a natural child of the employee or adoption by or foster care placement with the employee of a child under the age of 3 (TX Gov. Code Sec. 661.913).
Parent-teacher conference leave. State employees who are parents of students from pre-kindergarten through grade 12 may use up to 8 hours of sick leave each calendar year to attend parent-teacher conferences. Employees must give reasonable notice before taking this leave (TX Gov. Code Sec. 661.206).
Foster parent leave. A ...

>> Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Texas Leave of Absence (FMLA) Resources

Leave of Absence (FMLA) Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!