Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

California Callback/ Report-In Pay: What you need to know

To guarantee at least partial compensation for employees who report to their job expecting to work a specified number of hours but are not able to work that amount of time because of inadequate scheduling or lack of proper notice by the employer, California law requires that employers pay nonexempt employees, in addition to the hours the employee actually works, for certain unworked but regularly scheduled time.
Each workday an employee is required to report for work and does report but is not put to work or is furnished less than half his or her usual or scheduled day's work, the employee must be paid for half the usual or scheduled day's work, but in no event for less than 2 hours nor more than 4 hours, at the employee's regular rate of pay (which must be at least minimum wage) (CA IWC Wage Orders Sec. 5).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
For example:
• If an employee is scheduled for 8 or 9 hours, the employee must be paid for 4.
• If an employee is scheduled for 7 hours, the employee must be paid for 3.5.
• If an employee is scheduled for 6 hours, the employee must be paid for 3.
• If an employee is scheduled for 5 hours, the employee must be paid for 2.5.
• If an employee is scheduled for 2, 3, or 4 hours, the employee must be paid for 2.
Employers are not obligated to pay reporting time pay if the employee is not fit to work, or the employee has not reported to work on time and is fired or sent home as a disciplinary action. Also, the reporting time pay provisions do not apply to employees on paid standby status or when an employee has a regularly scheduled shift of less than 2 hours, such as a relief cashier who works only during a 1-hour period in the middle of the day.
Occasionally, employees are called to work on a day they are not ...

>> Read more about Callback/ Report-In Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Arkansas | California | Connecticut | District of Columbia | Massachusetts | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New York | North Dakota | Oregon | Rhode Island | West Virginia |

California Callback/ Report-In Pay Resources

Policies On-call pay policy (standard)

Callback/ Report-In Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!