|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connecticut Callback/ Report-In Pay: What you need to know

Callback pay relates to employees who are called back to work because of an emergency situation after having already completed a work shift that day. Other than mercantile, beauty shop, laundry, and restaurant exceptions, there is no requirement in law that employees be guaranteed a minimum number of hours work when called back. However, the hours they do work must be paid at the employees' base rates--or at the applicable overtime rate. Exempt employees need be paid nothing above their normal salaries.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Report-in pay applies to situations in which employees report to work at the normal starting hour and are unable to work because of some unusual condition, such as a power failure. Other than mercantile, beauty shop, laundry, and restaurant exceptions, there is no state or federal law requiring that an employer pay any hours worked to nonexempt employees who show up for work only to find that there is no work to do. Deductions from exempt pay of less than a full week under such circumstances are prohibited.
Restaurant and hotel restaurant occupations. Under the Connecticut Labor Department's Mandatory Order No. 8, employees reporting or called to work, unless given adequate notice not to report, must be paid a minimum daily guarantee of 2 hours at their regular rate, even if they perform no work.
Mercantile occupations. Employees in retail and wholesale trades that report or are called to work, unless given adequate notice not to report, must be paid a minimum daily guarantee of 4 hours at their regular rate, even if they perform no work. However, where employees regularly work fewer than four hours, this requirement can be waived on a form approved by the Commissioner of Labor, provided ...

>> Read more about Callback/ Report-In Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Arkansas | California | Connecticut | District of Columbia | Massachusetts | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New York | North Dakota | Oregon | Rhode Island | West Virginia |

Connecticut Callback/ Report-In Pay Resources

TypeTitle
Policies On-call pay policy (standard)

Callback/ Report-In Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!