Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Jersey Callback/ Report-In Pay: What you need to know

New Jersey law requires that an employee who reports for duty on any day at the employer's request be paid for at least 1 hour at the applicable wage rate, even if no work was performed. This requirement does not apply if the employer has already provided the employee with the minimum number of hours of work that the employer and the employee have agreed on before the beginning of work on the day in question (NJ Admin. Code Sec. 12:56-5.5).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Resident employees. Employees who reside on the employer's premises, and whose work hours are irregular and intermittent to the extent that it is not feasible to account for the hours actually on duty, must be compensated for at least 8 hours each day that they are on duty (NJ Admin. Code Sec. 12:56-5.3).
If on-call employees are not required to remain at the workplace and are free to use their time as they choose, subject only to the provision that they leave word where they may be reached, that time is not considered work time (NJ Admin. Code Sec. 12:56-5.6(a)). When such an employee does go out on an on-call assignment, only the time needed to perform the assignment is counted as hours worked.
If calls are so frequent, or the on-call situations so restrictive, that on-call employees cannot use the time effectively for their own personal purposes, the on-call time must be considered hours worked (NJ Admin. Code Sec. 12:56-5.6(b)).
If on-call employees are required to remain at home while on call (e.g., to answer telephone calls from customers when the business office is closed), and such employees have long periods of uninterrupted leisure time, any reasonable agreement between the parties for determining the number of hours worked is acceptable. The ...

>> Read more about Callback/ Report-In Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Arkansas | California | Connecticut | District of Columbia | Massachusetts | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New York | North Dakota | Oregon | Rhode Island | West Virginia |

New Jersey Callback/ Report-In Pay Resources

Policies On-call pay policy (standard)

Callback/ Report-In Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!