|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Arkansas Deductions From Pay: What you need to know

There are few restrictions in Arkansas on deductions from an employee's paycheck. However, employers are required to withhold amounts for state and federal employment taxes. There is detailed information on deductions for taxes.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Under Arkansas law, employers may take an allowance for the reasonable value of board, lodging, apparel, or other items and services provided to the employee for the employee's benefit (AR Stat. Sec. 11-4-213). The allowance may not exceed 30 cents per hour. If this allowance reduces an employee's hourly rate below the minimum wage, the employer may be in violation of both state and federal minimum wage laws. If an employee claims the value of the board, lodging, apparel, or other items and services had a reasonable value of less than 30 cents per hour during any work week, the director of the Department of Labor may require the employee to prove the value received was less than the amount deducted by the employer.
An employer is not required to honor an assignment of future wages to secure a loan of less than $200 unless the employer agrees to the assignment in writing and the assignment is filed with the recorder of the county where the assigner resides if a resident of Arkansas or in the state where he or she is employed (AR Stat. Sec. 11-4-101). In addition, no assignment of or order for wages may be valid when made by a married man, unless the employee's wife gives her express written consent to the assignment of wages. There are more details on state Garnishment.
Employers must withhold amounts for child support and/or other amounts required pursuant to a garnishment order ...

>> Read more about Deductions From Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Arkansas Deductions From Pay Resources

Deductions From Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!