Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

California Deductions From Pay: What you need to know

Generally, under California law, an employer may withhold money from an employee’s wages only when authorized:
• By state or federal law (CA Lab. Code Sec. 224).
• In writing by the employee, and for insurance premiums, hospital or medical payments, or other withholdings that do not amount to rebates from any standard wage arrived at through collective bargaining (CA Lab. Code Sec. 224).
• Expressly by wage agreements or collective bargaining contracts for the purposes of health and welfare or pension plan contributions (CA Lab. Code Sec. 224).
• By court order for the payment of child support, alimony, or other debts. For more information, see the
• By a wage assignment evidenced by a separate, notarized document signed by the employee and specifically identifying the transaction to which it relates. If the employee is married or a minor, the assignment must be accompanied by the signed consent of the employee’s spouse or parent. An assignment is limited to 50 percent of the employee’s salary and is revocable at any time (CA Lab. Code Sec. 300).
• By the employee for deposit in a bank, savings and loan association, or credit union of the employee’s choice.
Administrative fee for support payments. Employers may charge an employee $1.50 for each support payment (CA Fam. Code Sec. 5235).
Lateness. An employer may deduct from an employee’s wages only an amount proportionate to that which would have been earned during the time lost, except that a deduction of 30 minutes' wages is allowed for tardiness of less than 30 minutes. If such a deduction is made, the employee may not work during that 30-minute period (CA Lab. Code Sec. 2928).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Except as provided above, employers ...

>> Read more about Deductions From Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

California Deductions From Pay Resources

Deductions From Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!