Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Illinois Deductions From Pay: What you need to know

Employers may make deductions from employees' pay only if the deductions are (IL Comp. Stat. Ch. 820 Sec. 115/9):
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
• Required by law (such as state and federal taxes and Social Security contributions);
• For the benefit of the employee;
• In response to a valid wage assignment agreement or wage deduction order; and
• Made with the express written consent of the employee.
An advance on wages may be repaid through payroll deductions only when both the employer and employee have signed a prior written agreement specifying the amount of the advance, a repayment schedule, and the method of repayment (IL Admin. Code Tit. 56 Sec. 300.750). The repayment schedule may not call for a deduction of more than 15 percent of the employee's gross wages per paycheck (IL Admin. Code Tit. 56 Sec. 300.800). However, if upon termination the employee owes an amount that is more than 15 percent of his or her gross wages, that amount may be withheld from the final paycheck, but only if such an arrangement was specifically included in the prior agreement (IL Admin. Code Tit. 56 Sec. 810).
Unearned vacation pay. If an employer lets an employee take vacation that has not yet been earned, and the employee terminates employment, the employer may not deduct the unearned pay from final compensation unless there is a written agreement as required for deduction of cash advances (IL Admin. Code Tit. 56 Sec. 300.760).
Tuition advances. An employer may not deduct tuition advances from wages or final compensation unless there is a written agreement as required for deduction of cash advances (IL Admin. Code Tit. 56 Sec. 300.770).
If the employer makes an overpayment of wages to an employee and the employee ...

>> Read more about Deductions From Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Illinois Deductions From Pay Resources

Deductions From Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!