Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maryland Deductions From Pay: What you need to know

The right of an employer to make deductions from employees' pay is limited by Maryland law. Deductions are permitted only if they are:
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
• Made in accordance with the provisions of law (such as Social Security).
• Ordered by a court (such as garnishments); There are more details.
• Expressly authorized in writing by the employee (such as union dues, charitable contributions, or certain wage assignments).
• Allowed by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry because the employee has received a benefit for which the deductions are a reimbursement (MD Labor and Employment Code Sec. 3-503 et seq.).
An assignment of wages is an agreement between an employee and his or her creditors in which the employee voluntarily assigns the creditor a portion of his or her wages for repayment of a debt. Wage assignments differ from garnishments in that garnishment is a procedure which takes place because the employee has not paid his or her debts voluntarily. In Maryland, wage assignments in retail installment sales contracts and for the repayment of loans under $6,000 are illegal. Other assignments of wages are legal if they cover only wages that will be earned up to six months from the date they are signed. In addition, wage assignments must be:
• In writing
• Signed and acknowledged by the assignor/employee (and spouse if married) before a notary public for the county in which the assignor lives
• Entered in the county court docket by the court clerk on the same day
• Have an interest rate of no more than 6 percent
• Served on the assignor's employer within 3 days of the signing and acknowledgment (MD Commercial Law Code Sec. 15-301et seq.)
Employers must furnish employees with a statement ...

>> Read more about Deductions From Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Maryland Deductions From Pay Resources

Deductions From Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!