Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Massachusetts Deductions From Pay: What you need to know

Payroll deductions for items other than taxes and garnishments generally require the employee's prior written authorization. An employer may not separately charge or bill an employee for fees or amounts not allowed as deductions.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Deductions for labor, trade union, or craft dues and obligations are permitted. Unless a collective bargaining agreement provides otherwise, employers are required to send any deductions for union or craft dues to the union within 14 days of the date of deduction. Failure to send the dues collected from employees within 14 days or the time specified in a collective bargaining agreement may result in a fine of $100.
Employers that supply meals and lodging may make deductions for both, subject to specific restrictions. No deduction for meals may exceed the actual cost to the employer. A deduction for one meal may be made from the basic minimum wage of an employee working 3 hours or more. A deduction for two meals may be made from the basic minimum wage of an employee whose work entirely covers two meal periods or 8 hours of work. A deduction for three meals may be made from the basic minimum wage of an employee if lodging is provided or if special permission is granted by the director of the Massachusetts Department of Labor and Industries. Lodging can only be deducted if it is safe, clean, and has heat, light, and available water. (MA Admin. Code Tit. 455 Sec. 2.04(2)). Deductions for meals and/or lodging can only be made if the employee voluntarily accepts the meals and/or lodging, if the employer provides notice to the employee stating the meals and/or lodging are voluntary, and the employee provides written record ...

>> Read more about Deductions From Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Massachusetts Deductions From Pay Resources

Deductions From Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!