Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Minnesota Deductions From Pay: What you need to know

Under Minnesota law, employers may deduct amounts from an employee's paycheck as required by local, state, or federal law, or court order. In addition, employers may make payroll deductions for the following items pursuant to a written, signed contract between the employer and employee that authorizes the deduction (MN Stat. Sec. 181.06):
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
• Union dues
• Life, accident and health, and group-term insurance premiums
• Group annuities
• Contributions to credit unions
• Employee stock purchase plans for periods longer than 60 days
• Savings plans for periods longer than 60 days
• Contributions to a community chest fund, local arts or science council, Minnesota benefits association, or a state or federally registered political action committee
Deductions are allowed where an employee, prior to making a purchase or loan from the employer, voluntarily authorizes in writing that the cost of the purchase or loan shall be deducted from the employee's wages, at regular intervals or upon termination of employment.
Deductions that are disciplinary fines are allowed for commissioned salespeople when there are errors in performing their job duties.
An employer may make deductions from an employee's wages for the actual cost of uniforms or equipment up to $50 per item, provided the deduction does not bring the employee's wage below the minimum wage (MN Stat. Sec. 177.24). Employees must be reimbursed the full amount deducted for uniforms and/or equipment upon termination of employment. The employer may then require the employee to give back any items that still exist for which the employer provided reimbursement.
Deductions may not be made for uniforms, purchased or ...

>> Read more about Deductions From Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Minnesota Deductions From Pay Resources

Deductions From Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!