|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ohio Deductions From Pay: What you need to know

Employers may make deductions from an employee's wages under certain conditions, including when the employer is required or allowed to do so by state or federal law and when the employer has a written authorization from the employee for the deductions, and the deductions are lawful.
Deduction of state income tax and school district tax is mandatory, except for domestic and agricultural employees, those who earn less than $300 per quarter, employees performing services for a foreign government or an international organization, and certain individuals under the age of 18 who deliver newspapers. Employers that deduct for taxes must furnish employees with a written statement showing the total amount earned during each calendar year and the amount deducted and withheld for each tax by January 31 of the following year. Employees who leave the job before the close of the calendar year must be given the statement within 30 days of the time they left the job (OH Stat. Sec. 5747.06).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Employers may make deductions that are:
• Authorized by employees, such as deductions for charitable contributions, savings programs (including credit unions), repayments of loans, and purchase of U.S. or corporate bonds
• Pursuant to written agreements for employee benefits such as health, welfare, and retirement benefits, and vacation, separation, and holiday pay
An employer that agrees to make authorized deductions for benefits must remit the funds within 30 days of the close of the pay period. Employers that fail to deposit the amounts within 30 days are subject to fines (OH Stat. Sec. 4113.15).
Employers may not make deductions for the following:
• Destruction or damage to ...

>> Read more about Deductions From Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Ohio Deductions From Pay Resources

Deductions From Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!