Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Utah Deductions From Pay: What you need to know

An employer may make a deduction from an employee's wages only if the deduction is required by court order or by state, local, or federal law; or the employee expressly authorizes the deduction in writing (UT Admin. Code Sec. R610-3-18).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Under Utah law, employers may make the following deductions from an employee's wages without prior written authorization:
• Deductions for damages suffered by the employer due to the employee's negligence during the course of employment that are over and above reasonable wear and tear, provided proof of damages meets the requirements of UT Admin. Code Sec. R610-3-18.G. (The employer must not have received compensation for the loss from an insurer, assurer, surety, or guarantor, and the offset must be reasonably related to the amount of the damage.)
• Deductions required by law such as taxes or garnishments. A $10 deduction is allowed for a single garnishment and $25 for a continuing garnishment.
There is additional information on garnishments.
Employers may make the following deductions only with the employee's prior written authorization or acknowledgment:
• Deductions that are for the employee's benefit such as health insurance premiums, contributions to a 401(k) or flexible spending account, retirement plans, or other benefit plan or program
• Deductions authorized by a collective bargaining agreement to which the employer is a party
• Sums deducted as payments, repayments, contributions, or deposits to a credit union, banking, savings, loan, trust, or other financial institution
• Deductions for the purchase of goods and services by the employee from ...

>> Read more about Deductions From Pay

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Utah Deductions From Pay Resources

Deductions From Pay Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!