|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Arkansas Garnishment: What you need to know

A garnishment is an order of a court to an employer (the garnishee) to withhold a sum of money from an employee's earnings for payment of a debt. The state of Arkansas draws a distinction between garnishments for support obligations (AR Code Sec. 9-14-218 et seq.) and those for other debts (AR Code Sec. 16-110-401 et seq.; Sec. 16-66-208).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Federal garnishment laws apply to virtually all employers. Where state laws are more restrictive than federal law (i.e., by protecting a greater amount of salary from garnishment), state laws will govern.
The Arkansas Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) will send an Income Withholding Order to an employer. The employer must begin withholding no later than the first pay period that occurs after 14 days following the date the notice was mailed.
Administrative fees for child support. The employer may collect a fee of $2.50 to cover its administrative costs for child support withholding.
Health insurance coverage. The National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) is a two-part federally required form. It was designed to provide employers and plan administrators with a standardized set of forms, processes, and time frames to streamline the work to enroll dependent children in employer-sponsored healthcare plans. The NMSN will typically be issued a few days following an employer's receipt of an Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support. Employers and plan administrators who fail to comply with the NMSN in a timely manner may be subject to court actions by either the state or the parents of the dependents.
Part A of the NMSN includes an Employer Information Sheet, the Notice to Withhold for Health Care Coverage, the Employer ...

>> Read more about Garnishment

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Arkansas Garnishment Resources

Garnishment Products

Payroll Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Payroll: How to Legally Handle Tax Levies and Garnishments""
HR Self-Audits Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "HR Self-Audits: How to Find (and Fix) the Legal Time Bombs in Your Workplace""
New Year, New Laws, New Employee Handbook Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "New Year, New Laws, New Employee Handbook: What to Change and What to Keep in 2013""
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!