|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Utah Garnishment: What you need to know

A garnishment is an order of a court to an employer (the garnishee) to withhold a sum of money from an employee's earnings for payment of a debt. The state of Utah draws a distinction between garnishments for support obligations and garnishments for other kinds of debts.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
There are numerous federal and state laws pertaining to garnishment. Where state law is more restrictive than federal law (i.e., by protecting a greater amount of salary from garnishment), then state law will govern. Specific state laws include UT Code Sec. 31A-22-610, Sec. 62A-11-101et seq, Sec. 62A-11-501et seq, Sec. 70C-7-103, and Sec. 78B-12-102.
Family support may include spousal support, child support, and health insurance. If the court or agency order calls for family support withholding, the order for withholding will be sent to the employer with instructions for withholding a certain amount of salary from each paycheck. The employer must deduct the amount designated in the order beginning with the next paycheck due to the employee after 14 days following service of the order and notice. The employer must pay the amount withheld to the Office of Recovery Services within 7 days of the date the employee is paid. An employer may be assessed $50 or 10 percent of the withheld income, whichever is more, if the payment is late. The garnishment continues until further notice from the court.
Administrative fees for child support. The employer may add on up to $25 in administrative fees. The amount may be deducted at one time or periodically.
Employee termination. If the employee leaves the job while a family support order is in place, the employer must notify the state agency within 5 days of ...

>> Read more about Garnishment

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Utah Garnishment Resources

Garnishment Products

Payroll Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Payroll: How to Legally Handle Tax Levies and Garnishments""
HR Self-Audits Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "HR Self-Audits: How to Find (and Fix) the Legal Time Bombs in Your Workplace""
New Year, New Laws, New Employee Handbook Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "New Year, New Laws, New Employee Handbook: What to Change and What to Keep in 2013""
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!