|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

California Hours of Work: What you need to know

Almost all California employees must be paid overtime of 11/2 times the employee's regular rate for all hours worked in excess of 8 in a workday, hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek, or hours worked on the seventh consecutive day worked in a workweek. Double time must be paid for hours worked in excess of 12 in a workday or hours worked in excess of 8 on the seventh consecutive day worked in any workweek (A.B. 60; CA Lab. Code Sec. 510, Interim Wage Order--2000).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The law provides an exemption from overtime after 8 hours for regularly scheduled alternate workweeks of no longer than 10 hours per day within a 40-hour workweek (CA Lab. Code Sec. 511). The alternate schedule must be approved in a secret ballot election by two-thirds of the affected employees in a work unit. The schedule may be a single standard or a menu of options from which each employee may select. An employee working more than 8 hours but fewer than 12 pursuant to such an alternative workweek schedule would have to be paid overtime of 11/2 times the employee's regular rate for work in excess of the regularly scheduled hours established by the schedule and for any work in excess of 40 hours per week. Double time would have to be paid for more than 12 hours per day and for hours in excess of 8 on any day that is not one of the regularly scheduled workdays.
Two common alternative workweek schedules are the 4/10 (4-day workweeks of 10 hours each day) and 9/80 (2-week periods of 9 hours each day, except one day with an 8-hour shift, allowing every other Friday off) schedules.
An employer may not reduce an employee's regular hourly rate as a result of the adoption of an alternative workweek schedule. Employers must make a ...

>> Read more about Hours of Work

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | California | Colorado | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Montana | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Texas | Utah | Washington | West Virginia | Wyoming |

California Hours of Work Resources

Hours of Work Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!