Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Massachusetts Hours of Work: What you need to know

An employee who reports for duty either at the request of the employer or with the employer's permission must be paid for at least 3 hours at no less than the applicable minimum wage, even if no work is assigned (MA Code of Regs. Tit. 455 Sec. 2.03). Charitable organizations are exempt from this requirement.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Employees who work more than 6 hours in any one calendar day must be allowed a meal break of at least 30 minutes. Exempt from this requirement, however, are ironworks, glassworks, printworks, paper mills, letterpress establishments, and bleaching and dyeing works. The commissioner of labor may issue additional exemptions to individual employers if the continuous nature of the establishment's processes or some other special circumstance, including a collective bargaining agreement, justifies an exemption (MA Gen. Laws Ch. 149 Sec. 100).
Massachusetts requires most employers to give workers a day off every week.
All on-call time is considered compensable working time unless the employee is not required to be at the worksite or another location and is effectively free to use his or her time for his or her own purposes.
Massachusetts places limits on the hours that may be worked by children under the age of 18.
Railroad workers. Conductors, guards, drivers, dispatchers, and motor, gate, and brake operators of street, electric, and elevated railways may not be required to work more than 9 hours in a day, and their workday must be completed within an 11-hour period.
Motor transporters. Drivers who transport goods must be given 8 hours off after 12 hours on duty and 10 hours off if they work 16 hours in any one 24-hour period (MA Gen. Laws Ch. ...

>> Read more about Hours of Work

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | California | Colorado | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Montana | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Texas | Utah | Washington | West Virginia | Wyoming |

Massachusetts Hours of Work Resources

Hours of Work Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!