Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Michigan Hours of Work: What you need to know

Employers are generally free to require employees to work as many hours as are needed. However, Michigan mandates that employers pay overtime when nonexempt employees work over 40 hours per week (MI Stat. Sec. 408.384a). This is identical to the federal law.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Michigan has laws regulating the number of hours that minors may work.
A motor carrier cannot permit or require a driver of a commercial motor vehicle to drive for any period after:
• Having been on duty 60 hours in any 7 consecutive days if the employing motor carrier does not operate every day in the week; or
• Having been on duty 70 hours in any period of 8 consecutive days if the employing motor carrier does operate commercial motor vehicles every day of the week.
However, this does not apply to the following drivers if their total driving time does not exceed 40 hours in any period of 7 consecutive days (MI Stat. Sec. 480.12v):
• Any driver-salesperson.
• Drivers delivering home heating fuel from the months of October through April in a commercial motor vehicle of less than 40,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.
• Drivers involved with the pickup or delivery of crude oil products during the time when weight limitations are imposed due to seasonal climatic changes.
• Drivers of commercial motor vehicles engaged in seasonal construction-related activities within a 100-air-mile radius of the normal work reporting location.
• Drivers of commercial motor vehicles being used in the delivery of beverages to retail businesses.
Employers must keep employment records showing the total daily hours worked computed to the nearest tenth of an hour, or stricter measure.

>> Read more about Hours of Work

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | California | Colorado | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Montana | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Texas | Utah | Washington | West Virginia | Wyoming |

Michigan Hours of Work Resources

Hours of Work Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!