Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Hampshire Hours of Work: What you need to know

Eight hours is considered a day's work in New Hampshire, unless the parties agree otherwise (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 275:30). Except for employees of employers covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, employees exempt from the New Hampshire minimum wage, and certain seasonal employees of amusement or recreational establishments, state law requires that time-and-a-half be paid for all work in excess of 40 in a week (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 279:21).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
An employer may not ask an employee to work over the legal limit in order to make up time lost by a legal holiday (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 275:31).
Work on Sundays. Any employer that requires an employee to work on a Sunday must provide the employee with 24 consecutive hours off in the following 6 days, or may face a fine (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 275:32).
Employees who report to work must be paid for at least two hours at their regular rates of pay. However, an employer who makes a good-faith effort to notify employees not to report to work does not have to pay wages for that day. If employees report to work after the employer's unsuccessful attempts to reach them, the employees must perform whatever duties the employer assigns (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 275:43-a).
Employers must keep records of all hours worked by all employees for at least 4 years (NH Admin. Reg. Sec. 803.04).

>> Read more about Hours of Work

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | California | Colorado | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Montana | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Texas | Utah | Washington | West Virginia | Wyoming |

New Hampshire Hours of Work Resources

Hours of Work Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!