|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Jersey Hours of Work: What you need to know

The New Jersey Department of Labor regulations require that all the time an employee is required to be at the workplace must be compensated as hours worked. However, employers are not required to pay for hours not worked because of holidays, vacations, lunch periods, illnesses, and similar absences.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Covered employees must be paid at least minimum wage for each hour worked. Overtime of one and one-half times the employee's regular rate must be paid for each hour worked in excess of 40 hours in a week.
New Jersey has specific provisions concerning compensation for reporting to work and time spent on call.
Healthcare facilities. Healthcare facilities may not require an employee to work more than an agreed to, predetermined, and regularly scheduled daily work shift--not to exceed 40 hours per week (NJ Rev. Stat. Sec. 34:11-56a34). Any overtime must be voluntary. If an employee refuses to work overtime, the employer may not discriminate against, dismiss, discharge, or impose any other penalty on the employee based on the employee's refusal to work overtime hours.
An employer may require overtime in an emergency when:
· The overtime is required as a last resort and is not used to resolve chronic short staffing; and
· The employer has exhausted reasonable efforts to obtain staffing (except in a declared national, state, or municipal emergency or other catastrophic event that substantially increases the need for healthcare services).
In such an emergency, the employer must give the employee necessary time, up to a maximum of 1 hour, to arrange for the care of the employee's minor children or elderly or disabled family members. If the employer mandates overtime, it must document in writing the ...

>> Read more about Hours of Work

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | California | Colorado | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Montana | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Texas | Utah | Washington | West Virginia | Wyoming |

New Jersey Hours of Work Resources

Hours of Work Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!