Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

West Virginia Hours of Work: What you need to know

West Virginia requires employers to pay employees overtime of 1 1 / 2 times their regular rate for all hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek (WV Code Sec. 21-5C-3). West Virginia does not generally limit the number of hours an employee may work, unless the employee is a minor. There is additional information and details.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Paid working time. Employees must be paid for all working time, which includes:
• Time spent in physical or mental exertion under the employer's control and direction
• Time spent in general work that the employer does not request, but allows or permits
• Changing of clothes or washing, either before or after work, that is indispensable to the employee's work, or required by law, rule, custom, or practice
• Waiting time when the employee is engaged to wait
• Rest periods of from 5 to 20 minutes
• On-call time that does not permit the employee to use the time effectively for his or her own purposes
Exclusions. The following are not considered work time:
• Bona fide meal periods
• Time spent in walking, riding, or traveling to and from the workplace
All employers must make and keep, for at least 2 years, records of each employee's hours of work (WV Code Sec. 21-5C-5). The records must also show the employee's:
• Name and address
• Wage rate
• Amount of pay for each pay period
• Amount of payroll deductions for each pay period
• Hours of employment
West Virginia law requires that a nurse who works 12 or more consecutive hours be allowed at least 8 consecutive hours of off-duty time immediately following the completion of the shift (WV Code Sec. 21-5F-1et seq.). No nurse may work more than 16 hours in a 24-hour period. The nurse is responsible ...

>> Read more about Hours of Work

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | California | Colorado | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Montana | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Texas | Utah | Washington | West Virginia | Wyoming |

West Virginia Hours of Work Resources

Hours of Work Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!