Agricultural workers. Massachusetts has a special minimum wage for agricultural workers.
Workers with disabilities. Workers whose earning capacity is impaired by age or physical or mental infirmity may qualify for employment at wages below the minimum, but only with a certificate issued by state labor authorities.
Learners and apprentices. Learners may be paid at a rate below the minimum wage, but only with a certificate issued by state labor authorities. However in merchandising, retail establishments, and laundries, employees must receive the minimum wage after completing 80 hours of employment (MA Gen. Laws Ch. 151 Sec. 7).
Student workers. Students employed by a hospital or laboratory in a formal training program and students employed by a college or other educational institution may pay student workers 80 percent of the minimum wage (455 MA Admin. Code Sec. 2.05). A license permitting the subminimum wage must be issued by the state labor authorities. Minimum wage waivers are also available for student workers employed as summer camp counselors. The Massachusetts Division of Occupational Safety ...