Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Michigan Minimum Wage: What you need to know

You can find your state’s minimum wage rate and tip credit laws at http://hr.blr.com/state-comparison-charts/Updated-Minimum-Wage-Chart.The state minimum wage applies to employers with two or more employees (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 408.382).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The state's minimum wage law does not apply to:
• Minors under the age of 16
• Childcare providers under the age of 18 who provide services on a casual basis
• Summer camp employees
• Most hand-harvest agricultural workers paid at “piecework” rates
Opportunity wage. Persons under the age of 20 may be paid an opportunity wage of $4.25 per hour during the first 90 calendar days of employment (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 408.384b).
Youth wages. Minors who are 16 or 17 years old may be paid 85 percent of the minimum wage (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 408.384b(2)). However, if an employer is covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), it must pay minors the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour. Employers must pay the federal rate because it is higher than 85 percent of the state minimum wage rate. An information sheet on the wage law is available on the Michigan Department of Energy, Labor, and Economic Growth's website at http://www.michigan.gov/dleg.
Training wages. Apprentices and workers being trained who are clearly unable to meet normal production standards may be paid less than the regular minimum wage rate for experienced workers, but only with the authorization of the Department of Consumer and Industry Services (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 408.387).
Workers with disabilities. Persons whose earning capacity is impaired by physical or mental disability may qualify for employment at wages below the minimum, but only with the authorization of the Department of ...

>> Read more about Minimum Wage

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Michigan Minimum Wage Resources

Minimum Wage Products

Compensation.BLR.com will help you price jobs competitively and comply with FLSA and wage and hour laws in your state. Get reliable salary data in seconds, along with the answers to complex state overtime compliance questions in one easy to use website. Get a VIP tour - call 1 800 454-0404"
Employee Compensation in [Your State]
This comprehensive resource solves your two biggest headaches in employee compensation. It gives you wage and hour law explanations and comparisons between state and federal. Saves you time and worry, makes sure you pay competitively.
    Subscription includes online companion site. "
Federal Labor Law Poster- English Edition
FMLA 2013 Changes are effective March 8, 2013. It Means you need a new poster.

Be sure you have the latest informaton!
Federal Labor Law Compliance has never been easier! New 6 in 1 Federal Labor Law Poster gives you everything you need to meet your federal posting requirements. Poster is laminated for durability! "
Your State's Labor Law Poster
State Regulation changes REQUIRE new posters--are you affected? State Labor Law Compliance has never been easier! Our state Labor Law poster gives you everything you need to meet your federal posting requirements. Includes all key topics required in each state - minimum wage, FMLA and more. (CA residents, please call to order)"
Wage and Hour Recordkeeping Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Wage and Hour Recordkeeping: How to Avoid the Expensive Mistakes that Most Employers Make""
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!