Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rhode Island Minimum Wage: What you need to know

You can find your state’s minimum wage rate and tip credit laws at http://hr.blr.com/state-comparison-charts/Updated-Minimum-Wage-Chart.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Several occupations and industries are exempt from Rhode Island's minimum wage provisions, including (RI Gen. Laws Sec. 28-12-3 et seq.):
• Domestic servants in private homes
• Traveling or outside salespeople
• Agricultural workers
• Federal employees
• Newspaper carriers, caddies, shoe shiners, and the like
• Seasonal employees of certain resorts
• Employer's parent, spouse, or child under the age of 18
• Volunteers
• Bona fide exempt positions as defined by the Fair Labor Standards Act
Minors aged 14 and 15 years who work 24 hours or less in a week may be paid 75 percent of the minimum wage rate.
Full-time students under the age of 19 who are working in nonprofit religious, library, educational, or community service organizations may be paid 90 percent of the minimum wage rate.
The director of labor may issue special certificates allowing employment at wages below the minimum for (RI Gen. Laws Sec. 28-12-5):
• Workers with disabilities
• Learners and apprentices, but only for the first 90 days of employment
Rhode Island employers must post the provisions of the state minimum wage law in a conspicuous location in the workplace. A poster that satisfies this requirement may be downloaded from the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training's website at http://www.dlt.ri.gov.
Employers must also post a notice outlining the federal minimum wage requirements. This notice is available from the U.S. Department of Labor at http://www.dol.gov/whd.

>> Read more about Minimum Wage

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Rhode Island Minimum Wage Resources

Minimum Wage Products

Compensation.BLR.com will help you price jobs competitively and comply with FLSA and wage and hour laws in your state. Get reliable salary data in seconds, along with the answers to complex state overtime compliance questions in one easy to use website. Get a VIP tour - call 1 800 454-0404"
Employee Compensation in [Your State]
This comprehensive resource solves your two biggest headaches in employee compensation. It gives you wage and hour law explanations and comparisons between state and federal. Saves you time and worry, makes sure you pay competitively.
    Subscription includes online companion site. "
Federal Labor Law Poster- English Edition
FMLA 2013 Changes are effective March 8, 2013. It Means you need a new poster.

Be sure you have the latest informaton!
Federal Labor Law Compliance has never been easier! New 6 in 1 Federal Labor Law Poster gives you everything you need to meet your federal posting requirements. Poster is laminated for durability! "
Your State's Labor Law Poster
State Regulation changes REQUIRE new posters--are you affected? State Labor Law Compliance has never been easier! Our state Labor Law poster gives you everything you need to meet your federal posting requirements. Includes all key topics required in each state - minimum wage, FMLA and more. (CA residents, please call to order)"
Wage and Hour Recordkeeping Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Wage and Hour Recordkeeping: How to Avoid the Expensive Mistakes that Most Employers Make""
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!