Payday. Connecticut requires wages to be paid weekly, no later than 8 days after the last day of the pay period. Employers are required to establish a regular payday (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-71b(a)) and to pay employees on the workday before if the regular payday falls on a nonwork day, such as a holiday (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-71b(b)).
Form of payment. CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-71b(a) requires that wages must be paid in cash, by negotiable check, or upon an employee's written request, by credit to the employee's bank account.
Weekly payroll. CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-71b(b) also requires that wages be paid weekly and no later than 8 days after the last day of the pay period. (Mailing a check within the 8-day limit complies with the law.)
The Department of Labor usually requires a letter requesting permission to pay on other than a weekly basis, including a description of the categories of personnel that would be paid in this fashion.
Information to employees. With each wage payment the employer must furnish the employee a record of (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-13a):
• Gross earnings showing straight time and overtime separately
This information is usually put on the paycheck stub but any written form will suffice. Even when paying in cash, it is necessary to accompany the payment with a written record as to hours worked, deductions, etc. This is usually done on the face of the pay envelope. There is no requirement to show the individual's actual hourly wage or weekly salary. It is not required to show hours worked for employees exempt from coverage under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) (29 USC 201) and the Connecticut Minimum Wage Act (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-58).