|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rhode Island Rest Periods: What you need to know

Federal wage and hour law does not mandate that employees be given either paid or unpaid rest or meal periods. Whether breaks are required is left up to the states. Rhode Island has laws on meal breaks and rest periods for breastfeeding.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division regulations do specify when work breaks that are provided, including meal periods, rest periods, and sleeping time, must be counted as work time subject to federal minimum wage and overtime requirements (29 CFR 785.18 through 785.23). There is additional information on these requirements.
Employees are entitled to a 20-minute meal break when working a 6-hour work shift and a 30-minute meal break when working an 8-hour work shift. Employers are not required to compensate employees for these meal breaks. The meal break requirements do not apply to licensed healthcare facilities and employers who employ less than three people on any shift at the worksite (RI Stat. Sec. 28-3-14).
An employer is required to provide reasonable unpaid break time each day to an employee who needs to breastfeed or express breast milk for her infant child to maintain milk supply and comfort. The requirement does not apply if it would create an undue hardship on the operations of the employer. The break time is to run concurrently, if possible, with any break time already provided to the employee. An employer must also make a reasonable effort to provide a private, secure, and sanitary room or other location near the work area, other than a toilet stall, for such breaks (RI Gen. Laws Sec. 23-13.2-1).
Last reviewed on May 11, 2016.

>> Read more about Rest Periods

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin |

Rhode Island Rest Periods Resources

There are currently no resources for this topic/state.

Rest Periods Products

Part Timers, Temps, and Interns Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Part Timers, Temps, and Interns: How to Avoid the Legal Risks of Less-Than-Full-Time Employees""
Off the Clock Time Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Off the Clock? How To Determine When Time Worked Is Compensable Under Federal Law""
Employing in Canada 2012 Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Employing in Canada 2012: Essential HR Policies and Practices""
California Employment Law Explained Boot Camp Recording
BLR Boot Camp: "California Employment Law Explained: Policy and Practice Essentials for HR""
CA Employment Law for Multistate Employers Recording
BLR Boot Camp: "California Employment Law for Multistate Employers: Policy and Practice Essentials for HR""
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!