|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Utah Rest Periods: What you need to know

Federal wage and hour law does not require that employees be provided either paid or unpaid rest or meal periods. Whether breaks are required is left up to the states. The only requirement for rest periods in Utah applies in the case of minors under the age of 18.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division regulations do specify when work breaks that are provided, including meal periods, rest periods, and sleeping time, must be counted as paid work time subject to federal minimum wage and overtime requirements (29 CFR 785.18 through 785.23). There are details on these requirements.
Employees under the age of 18 must be allowed a 30-minute meal period no later than 5 hours after the beginning of the workday. If the minor cannot be completely relieved of all duties during the meal period, the time will be considered working time (UT Admin. Code Sec. R610-2-3).
A 10-minute paid rest period must be provided for each 4-hour shift. However, no minor may be required to work more than 3 consecutive hours without a 10-minute rest period.

>> Read more about Rest Periods

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin |

Utah Rest Periods Resources

There are currently no resources for this topic/state.

Rest Periods Products

Part Timers, Temps, and Interns Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Part Timers, Temps, and Interns: How to Avoid the Legal Risks of Less-Than-Full-Time Employees""
Off the Clock Time Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Off the Clock? How To Determine When Time Worked Is Compensable Under Federal Law""
Employing in Canada 2012 Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Employing in Canada 2012: Essential HR Policies and Practices""
California Employment Law Explained Boot Camp Recording
BLR Boot Camp: "California Employment Law Explained: Policy and Practice Essentials for HR""
CA Employment Law for Multistate Employers Recording
BLR Boot Camp: "California Employment Law for Multistate Employers: Policy and Practice Essentials for HR""
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!