|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Alabama Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Alabama's Commissioner of the Department of Labor has the authority to investigate and attempt to adjust controversies in respect to wage claims or alleged wage claims (AL Code Sec. 25-3-4) and to administer and enforce the state child labor law relating to hours of work, among other things (AL Code Sec. 25-3-3).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Alabama has no minimum wage and overtime laws. Minimum wage and overtime issues in Alabama are governed by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), except for overtime provisions covering law enforcement officers. There is additional information. In addition, Alabama employers may be covered by the federal Equal Pay Act.
Child labor. The state Department of Labor has the right to enter any business establishment for a routine inspection, without prior notice or warrant, to ensure that minors are employed in compliance with state child labor laws (AL Code Sec. 25-8-52). Employers that violate the child labor laws may be fined up to $5,000 depending on the type of violation. In determining the number of violations committed, an employer may face a separate civil penalty for each individual employee affected by the employer's violation. In addition, employers may face more than one civil penalty with respect to the same adversely affected employee if the employer has violated more than one rule (AL Code Sec. 25-8-59).
Public service corporations. Every public service corporation engaged in transportation, employing 50 or more employees, is required to pay employees at least once every 2 weeks, or twice during each calendar month, for labor or services performed 15 days prior. Any public service corporation that violates this law will be guilty of a misdemeanor and fined at least $25 ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Alabama Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!