|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Arkansas Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Employers covered by Arkansas's minimum wage and overtime law are required to keep employee records, including the name, address, and occupation of each employee; the rate of pay; and the amount paid each pay period to each employee, for at least 3 years. At any reasonable time, the Department of Labor's director (or his or her authorized representative) may inspect or make a transcription of those records, as well as any books, registers, payrolls, and other wage-related records. In addition, the director may question employees and require that employers provide a sworn statement of their wage-related records (AR Stat. Sec. 11-4-209and Sec. 11-4-217). There are more details on minimum wage and overtime.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Violations and penalties. Willful violations of the state's minimum wage and overtime provisions are punishable by a fine of $50 to $1,000 per violation. The amount of the fine is based on the size of the business and the gravity of the violation. Each day a violation continues is considered a separate offense. Violations include willfully:
• Hindering or delaying the director's investigation;
• Refusing to admit the director to the place of employment;
• Failing to keep required records;
• Falsifying records;
• Refusing to make relevant records available to the director on demand;
• Refusing to provide a sworn statement of the record on demand;
• Failing to post a summary or copy of the state's minimum wage and overtime provisions;
• Paying or agreeing to pay minimum wages at a rate less than the applicable rate; and
• Discharging or discriminating against an employee who makes a minimum wage complaint, causes such a proceeding, or testifies or is about to testify in such a proceeding (AR Stat. Sec. ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Arkansas Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!