|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Colorado Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

The director of the state's Division of Labor (or his or her authorized representative) has the authority to enter places of employment to inspect wage-related records. The director may make excerpts of reports, payrolls, and other wage-related documents and require that the employer provide an accurate statement of wages paid (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-6-107).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Investigation of certain occupations. The director will initiate an investigation of a particular occupation if he or she believes that inadequate wages are being paid to a significant number of employees in that occupation, or if he or she receives such a request from at least 25 people employed in that occupation (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-6-105).
Minimum wage violations. Employers covered by minimum wage law who pay employees less than the applicable minimum wage are guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500, imprisonment, or both (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-6-116). In a civil suit, an employee may recover unpaid wages plus costs (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-6-118).
Failure to pay wages. An employer who fails to pay wages due will be fined $50 per day for each failure to pay (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-4-113). Violation of certain wage-payment provisions is considered a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $300, imprisonment, or both (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-4-114).
Wage discrimination on the basis of sex. Under certain circumstances, an employer who pays employees of the opposite sex at different pay rates for comparable work is in violation of the law. When the Division of Labor receives a complaint for such a violation, the employer must make all of its relevant records available for inspection (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-5-105). The employer may ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Colorado Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!