|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connecticut Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Connecticut's labor commissioner (or the commissioner's authorized representative) has the authority to:
• Enter a place of employment to inspect any and all books, registers, payrolls, and other wage-related records to determine whether the employer is complying with the state's wage regulations; and
• Require the employer to provide full and correct written statements of the wages paid to employees.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
If the commissioner believes that a particular occupation is receiving less than a fair wage, the commission may initiate an investigation of that occupation and appoint a wage board to report on establishing minimum fair wage rates for that occupation. The commissioner is obligated to conduct such an investigation if 50 or more state residents sign a petition calling for an investigation (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-59).
Retaliation. No employer may discharge, discipline, penalize, or discriminate against an employee because the employee has filed a claim or has testified or is about to testify in a wage claim proceeding. The commissioner may order the employer to rehire or reinstate the affected employee to his or her previous job, to pay back wages and reestablish employee benefits, and to pay reasonable attorney's fees and costs (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-69b).
Any employer who discharges or discriminates against an employee for serving on or testifying before a wage board must pay a fine of $100 to $400 (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-69).
Recordkeeping requirements. Employers must keep required wage records, provide those records to the commissioner on request, admit the commissioner to the business, and avoid delaying or hindering the investigation. Violations are punishable by a fine of up to $200. Each day that ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Connecticut Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!